A Cool Story for a Hot Day

August Greetings to My Praise Notes Friends!   With the temperatures as they are around the U.S and beyond, I thought you’d appreciate, for a few moments, imagining yourself splashing in a raft down a glacier fed river. How refreshing!   It was such a fun experience for me and I’m blessed to share it with you.   God bless your August days with good health and relaxing moments!  
In Christ always, 
Carole       
1 Cor. 10:31 
PADDLE FORWARD from Revitalize by Carole Brewer
I’ve always loved rides that inspire me to sound off with a loud “Whee!” or “Yee-haw!” While visiting the Canadian Rockies, my husband and I decided to try a white-water raft trip. After wriggling into wet suits, rubber booties, and life jackets, we received a crash course, in dry dock, on rowing etiquette.  
Paddle forward
Paddle backward
Stop
Paddles up
Rest  

Those commands seemed easy enough to follow.
Our group of seven gripped the side-ropes of our raft and lugged it downhill to the river’s edge—a pebbly beach just around the bend from the bottom of the magnificent, roaring Athabasca Falls! Quickly choosing our seats, we braced ourselves while our guide at the back calmly said, “Ready? Paddle forward.” In less than a minute, we were bouncing through frothy swirls—the kind you’d find inside a giant Maytag operating in the heavy load cycle.  

Paddling forward through the suds and working hard at it, we encountered holes, pour-overs, and other types of swirls found in a rushing river. I shouted to my crew mates as the icy water splashed against my cheeks, “I’m having a glacial facial!”  

Five miles into our ten-mile trek, our guide gave us a surprising break. By following his commands, we maneuvered our rubber boat into an “eddy”—a calm pool of almost still water located on the backside of a huge protruding boulder. With rapids encircling us, it was amazing to rest and be protected from all the turbulence.   With his clear and specific commands, our guide made it possible for our team of paddlers to negotiate twenty sets of rapids and enjoy relaxing floats in-between.  

And then with the white-water behind us, our guide again piped up, “Would anyone like to give my job a try?” Without a second thought, I jumped up thinking I would excel at the seemingly simple task. He handed me his larger paddle and I took his seat in the back of the raft.   “Ready? …Mush!” I jokingly ordered.   As my group rowed, we immediately started turning to the left. Trying to conceal my embarrassment, I exclaimed in my best tour guide voice, “We are now rotating. Just keep paddling and enjoy the view!” They all laughed, and we completed our turn. Again, I tried, saying, “Paddle forward!” The patient crew paddled with me into a second turn to the left and then a third.

Exasperated with our dizzy course, I humbly and gratefully relinquished my seat of authority back to our expert guide.   What had I missed? Other than responding to our guide’s voice commands coming from behind, the scenery and action ahead drew most of my attention. I didn’t know how a rudder works, in this case his big paddle. A rudder, according to the dictionary, is a vertical blade at the stern of a vessel that can be turned horizontally to change the vessel’s direction when in motion. Our guide did just that making our efforts to paddle forward a success.   Through this exhilarating and refreshing experience, I’ve learned that without the presence of our eternal Guide, we can take meaningless life-spirals. When relinquishing our will to God’s, the life journeys we take, complete with serene pools and torrent rapids, will go forward in His divine direction and bring glory to His name.
Thoughts to Consider:
1. Do you remember any wasted turns in your life? What happened?
2. How and when has God demonstrated to you that He is the Solid Rock who gives shelter and peace in your life?
3. When trials have encircled you, how has God protected you from the turbulence?
  “Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track,” (Proverbs 3:5-6 MSG).   “You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand,” (Psalm 16:11).
  Why women’s events? A chance to enjoy the company of other like-minded women!Worship the Lord with beautiful musicHear a message that will keep you on track with your spiritual walk. Rest Relax Have fun!  
Visit Carole Brewer Ministries for great event ideas and share them with your women’s ministry team today!

Connect with Carole! FOLLOW JESUS!  
Website: CaroleBrewer.com  
Podcast: BibleChicks.com

Leave a comment