STANDING STRONG


CAROLE BREWER MINISTRIES ~ CaroleBrewer.com SEPTEMBER 2023 ~ ISSUE 115  

September Blessings to My Praise Notes Friends!  

Do you remember the terrible Caldor Fire that took place in Northern California two years ago? The burnt forests are scattered throughout the mountains and may take another century to fully rejuvenate.   Recently, my husband and I finally made it up to the High Sierra to face the damage. We drove to the place where I spent many summers as a child camping with my family. Anxiously, I climbed the steep hillside to the granite rock formation where my life-long friend, a little cedar tree had been living. Had it survived?   Read my story below to learn how knowing about this little tree can make a difference in our lives today.  
In Christ always, 
Carole      
 1 Cor. 10:31     

STANDING STRONG by Carole Brewer  
This is a photo that I took in 2020 of my centuries-old cedar tree that stands a little over five feet tall. Located at 8,000 feet in the Sierra Nevada Mountains of California, it’s been one of my very favorite places to visit since my childhood and through my adult years.   Interesting to note, this cedar tree is separated from a large forest of pine trees below and lives by itself atop a huge rock formation. With a 360-degree exposure to all of the elements, its trunk has been shaped by extreme winds, blizzards, deep snow, and drought. Though battered every year, this little cedar continues to stand strong! Cedar tree before the Caldor Fire  
Two weeks ago, I was able to visit my tree again and greatly singed. Sadly, the flying embers from the forest below made it to my tree’s gentle branches.  
But look closer! Do you see the new green growth emerging? Two years of snowy winters have once again blanketed my tree and helped it to heal.   How does this little tree keep standing strong after all these years? Back in 2020, I finally noticed large roots peeking out onto the soil below the huge granite formation where it lives.    My tree is deeply rooted and standing on the rock! Spiritually speaking, are we?  

Like this tree, we too can not only survive, but flourish when well-rooted in God’s word and standing on the promises of Jesus, our Rock. It’s my hope that when we do, others will notice our faith, especially through the many trials and challenges we’re facing this year.  

Here are some promises we can take to heart:  
… he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. Psalm 40:2

…we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. Romans 5:3-4  

Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. James 1:4  

Let’s pray! — Thank you, Lord, for the promise that through life’s challenges, we can still flourish in our faith and have Your supernatural peace. Whatever the circumstance, please help us to trust in Your faithfulness and stand strong in the truth of Your word.
In Jesus’ name, Amen

      “Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track,” (Proverbs 3:5-6 MSG).   “You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand,” (Psalm 16:11).    

Why Women’s Events?   A great get-away for enjoying the company of other like-minded women! Worship the Lord with beautiful music Hear a message that will keep you on track with your spiritual walk. Rest Relax Have fun!   Visit Carole Brewer Ministries for great event ideas. Share Carole’s topics with your women’s ministry team today!  

 
Connect with Carole! FOLLOW JESUS!  
Website: CaroleBrewer.com  
Podcast: BibleChicks.com

  YoutubeTwitterLinkedin       

Leave a comment